To earn your actual property license in Utah, you have to full 120 hours of accepted prelicensing programs, move the true property examination, select an actual property brokerage, and apply to your license. Seize a pastrami burger and let’s dive into the steps of learn how to change into an actual property agent in Utah.
1. Meet Utah’s Authorized Necessities
To get an actual property license in Utah, it is advisable meet a number of normal eligibility necessities. You have to be a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted resident, at the very least 18 years of age or older, and have a highschool diploma or GED.
Candidates who’ve an current legal report should still apply for an actual property license. Nonetheless, in accordance with Administrative Rule R162-2f-201, in case you have been convicted of a felony within the final 5 years, or have been convicted of a misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty inside the final three years, you don’t qualify for actual property licensure in Utah.
For another convictions, while you apply, you have to embrace your legal historical past together with the required paperwork associated to the conviction and the Qualifying Questionnaire. After submitting your fingerprints, your utility can be forwarded to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the FBI’s Division of Felony Justice Data Methods (CJIS). Upon investigation, every applicant can be thought of on their very own deserves.
Do you know?
Utah has mutual recognition agreements with three states or jurisdictions: Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta (Canada). In case you are already a licensed actual agent in these states, you don’t have to take prelicensing programs or move an examination to obtain a Utah actual property license. As an alternative, you have to full the Utah reciprocity application and full a background verify to get your real estate license.
Utah can be a turf state, which doesn’t enable out-of-state brokers to conduct any sort of actual property enterprise inside state strains. To study extra about actual property license portability in Utah, try our guide to real estate license reciprocity and portability.
2. Full Required Prelicensing Programs
In the event you meet the eligibility necessities to change into an actual property agent in Utah, you can begin taking your prelicensing programs via a web based actual property faculty in Utah. These programs value between $399 and $805 and encompass 120 hours of required prelicensing training that cowl the next matters:
- Possession of actual property
- Actual property brokerage and regulation of company
- Property administration
- Federal taxation
- Actual property finance
- Valuation and appraisal
- New development
- Federal legal guidelines
- Utah regulation
Do you know?
Any lively member of the Utah Bar who’s in good standing and certified beneath the true property license regulation is exempt from taking the true property gross sales affiliate prerequisite course.
If you need a high accredited online real estate school that’s straightforward to comply with, retains you engaged, and features a move assure, try The CE Shop. They provide a variety of package deal choices for aspiring Utah actual property brokers and boast a 96% scholar satisfaction price.
3. Take the Utah Actual Property Examination
After finishing your prelicensing programs, you’re able to take the Utah actual property license examination. Since you are taking the Utah actual property examination on a pc, you’ll obtain your rating report instantly after ending, and know whether or not you handed or failed. If you don’t move the examination, you have to wait 24 hours earlier than registering to retake it.
In the event you move the nationwide or state part of the examination however fail the opposite, it is advisable retake the failed portion inside six months. If each sections of the examination aren’t handed inside six months out of your first testing date, you can be required to retake the complete examination. You may retake the Utah actual property examination as many occasions as obligatory.
Schedule Your Examination
All Utahns who wish to change into an actual property agent in Utah should register for the examination on the Pearson VUE web site. You’ll have to create an account and pay the $59 examination payment throughout registration. You should definitely evaluation the Utah real estate candidate handbook for all examination and license particulars.
Along with the identification paperwork listed above, you can be required to carry a accomplished copy of the Candidate Education Certifying Document to the testing middle. You’ll obtain a duplicate of this doc out of your training supplier after finishing your prelicensing programs. This doc is barely legitimate for one 12 months and have to be taken to the examination middle and despatched together with your actual property utility. It have to be submitted inside 90 days of passing the true property examination.
If you wish to be assured about your means to move the Utah actual property examination in your first strive, use the instruments and help provided by Real Estate Exam Scholar. For under $39, you obtain six months of entry to the true property examination prep course with the very best outcomes throughout the nation—in addition to a money-back move assure.
4. Get Fingerprints & Background Examine
Fingerprints at the moment are required for all Utah actual property license candidates. You may obtain fingerprinting providers after your examination on the Pearson VUE facilities positioned in Bountiful, Draper, Ogden, and Orem, however provided that you make a separate appointment upfront. You can also make your fingerprinting appointment and pay the $12 payment in your Pearson VUE account by choosing “UTFP-Utah Fingerprint Appointment (Gross sales solely)” from the examination checklist. Your fingerprint receipt have to be submitted together with your license utility.
In case your testing middle doesn’t present fingerprinting providers, you’ll obtain two fingerprint playing cards and a signed fingerprint waiver. You’ll then have to make an appointment at a neighborhood regulation enforcement company or third-party fingerprinting vendor.
5. Decide a Firm to Work For
As a way to maintain an lively license in Utah, you have to discover a sponsoring brokerage with which to affiliate your license. To make your selection a bit of bit simpler, try our in-depth information on choosing the right real estate company to work for. Though there are lots of profitable brokerages within the Beehive state, beneath you’ll discover the highest 5 brokerages reported for 2021.
(Supply: Real Trends 2021)
Utah Cities With Highest Median Gross sales Worth 2021
The upper that properties are promoting for means the upper fee you might have the chance to get as an actual property agent in Utah. To get a way of which cities are bringing within the bucks for Utah actual property brokers, try this gross sales information from Towncharts.com beneath:
6. Apply for Your License
The ultimate step of becoming a real estate agent in Utah is to use to your actual property license. That is comparatively easy because you’ll full the 4 required paperwork for utility on the testing middle after you obtain a passing rating. Then, you’ll submit your actual property utility through the Utah MyLicense portal, the place you’ll need to create an account.
Additionally, you will have to add the next paperwork from the real estate sales agent license checklist:
- Salesperson utility (signed, dated, and issued by the Pearson VUE testing middle)
- Qualifying questionnaire (signed, dated, and issued by the Pearson VUE testing middle)
- Consent to a background verify (signed, dated, and issued by the Pearson VUE testing middle)
- Certification of authorized presence (signed, dated, and issued by the Pearson VUE testing middle)
- Candidate training certifying doc (signed, dated, and issued by your actual property faculty)
Every doc have to be submitted as moveable doc format (PDF) information. You’ll additionally pay a non-refundable utility payment of $157, which incorporates your utility payment, restoration fund payment, fingerprint processing payment, and FBI RAPBACK enrollment payment, which is a further processing payment. After your utility is submitted efficiently, it takes 4 to 6 weeks to acquire your actual property license in Utah.
7. Begin Your Actual Property Profession
Now that you just’ve discovered learn how to change into an actual property agent within the Beehive State, you’re prepared to begin your actual property journey. For extra data, check out our Top 25 New Real Estate Agent Tips From the Pros or 14 Real Estate Agent Tips for 2021 to jump-start your profession.